Reichspogromnacht

Today is Reichspogromnacht, or Reichskristallnacht, the Night of Broken Glass, when hundreds of synagogues and stores were destroyed, and 30,000 Jews arrested.

Where I live, this is not a day to remember–many of my students do not even   know what the word pogrom means. Others, of course, can talk of terrible times they lived through, in former Yugoslavia, or in India (“When my neighbors were massacred, I stopped believing God” – Not what you expect to hear in a RELG 110 class on American religiosity in the Deep South!). When I was a child, this date was the major remembrance day of the Shoah, with vigils and prayers, and so I cannot remember.  I have written about the day elsewhere.

Leave a Reply

