Yom hazikaron/Yom haatzma’ut

Janis Ruth Coulter z"lYesterday, Israel commemorated its fallen soldiers of the last 61 years . Among the 20.000 remembered dead are also the many victims of terrorism, among them my friend Janis Coulter z”l (of blessed memory) who was murdered having lunch in a student cafeteria at Hebrew University on July 31, 2002. Janis and I met in the mid-90s in Israel, and when I moved to NYC, she welcomed me with open arms and helped me to decipher American culture, taking me out to places way beyond my meager means as a graduate student, and supporting me in more ways than I can remember.  I  miss her.

May her memory be for a blessing and her family find comfort.

Leave a Reply

